New Year, New Goals

Happy New Year Everyone!

So, the first week of 2017 is done and dusted (I’m not including the weekend – that’s fun time). Unsurprisingly, it has been back to the grindstone and the shock has been made worse by two weeks of just hanging out with family and friends.

In amongst that downtime, I was able to take a day or two to really think about what I want to get out of 2017. For anyone who has been following this blog, or any of my social media accounts for that matter, it is probably obvious that I’ve wanted to move away from technical/non-fiction projects and more towards fiction. I also want to have more autonomy over those non-fiction projects.

The first quarter of the year will therefore be all about tying up loose ends. I don’t want to abandon any existing commitments because I am not that kind of person, but I’ll start to wrap things up soon. I want to have the time to focus on my creativity and my health. Both are hugely important to me and both have slipped down the list in 2016 when more urgent things came along. I want to enter the second quarter of the year working on things that matter to me, so I’ve made that my goal.

2016 was also a terrible year when it came to the sudden and rapid rise of right wing thinking. Another thing I want to do is take some free time I gain from certain projects ending and plough it into social causes. Because we all know where this leads when we all sit back and hope someone else will stop Hitler Trump/Farage type people.

Oh, and more travel. The good kind.

So those are my overarching plans for 2017. Breaking them down, I’m planning to get back to doing a weekly recap. Hopefully this will be interesting for anyone following a writing process in general but will also keep me accountable on some level.

cropped-2016-banner.jpg

Creative – new ideas and first drafts

I’ve been working on a new short story, which I’ll probably publish under a pseudonym as it doesn’t fit with my other C K Martin work (which some would argue is unfocused enough already). However, I’m challenging myself and trying to improve my writing on a technical level, which is a great way to start the year. I’m also throwing an idea around for a lesbian romance novella, so if anyone has any opinions on whether or not they like to reader shorter length fiction, then please drop a note in the comments.

Editing – the slow, tortuous road to publication

I’ve been editing a synopsis and sample chapters for a writer friend, ready for competition submission. To be fair, I much prefer doing edits for other people than I do for myself. It’s been a struggle to do it properly through the post Christmas wine and mince pie withdrawal though.

Publishing – and all the other bits that go on behind the scenes

I’ve started to throw together some book cover ideas for the short story mentioned above. Given the length and the fact it is a little bit experimental, the goal is to move from draft to publication very quickly. I’m also trying to work out the pros and cons of Amazon’s new paperback option vs CreateSpace, so that’s a nice new challenge too.

Planning and dreaming – what’s coming up next week

I’m planning to get into heavy editing and pre-publication work next week so that I can then move onto the next project. I have a few days currently unscheduled to other projects, so I am fully intending to take advantage of them.

Writing Best Bits

Getting back into the swing of things has actual felt amazing. Although a heavy cold (presumably like the one the Queen had?) dragged me down in November and then it was non-stop social events in December so I was a bit rusty, I still managed to get in 1500 words each morning before 7:15. It feels good to come back to something you love and not get the fear of the blank page when you arrive.

Weekly success score: 7/10 – The writing was good, but I still keep remembering that people voted Trump for president. It’s like a daily slap in the face with a wet fish.

One thought on “New Year, New Goals

  1. Pingback: News Roundup: Double Brit Rainbow Award Win, New Books, Blogs, Reviews, Free Stuff and More! | UK Lesbian Fiction

Leave a Reply

